DASWCD Home‎ > ‎

About Us

Top Row, left to right: Stephen Wilmeth, Melissa Gorham, Joe Delk, Jennifer Shoup, & Dudley Williams
 Bottom Row, left to right: Jerry Schickedanz and DJ Martinez 
Doña Ana Soil and Water Conservation District (DASWCD) is authorized by the Soil and Water Conservation District Act (73-20-25 through 73-20-48 NMSA 1978) to conserve and develop the natural resources of the state, provide for flood control, preserve wildlife, protect the tax base and promote the health, safety, and general welfare of the people of Doña Ana County. DASWCD is a governmental subdivision of the State of New Mexico. 
DASWCD was originally created with the name La Union Soil and Water Conservation District on June 17, 1966. The original boundaries did not include the incorporated portions of the City of Las Cruces. In 2010, the boundaries were changed to include the city. The name was also changed to better reflect the jurisdiction of the District. In the Spring of 2015, the District was divided into zones in order to better serve the constituents of geographical areas. 
DASWCD consists of a total of seven Supervisors. The Supervisors are residents and/or landowners of the District or appropriate zone.  The Board meets once a month, on the 2nd Thursday, at 9am at Elephant Butte Irrigation District, 530 South Melendres in Las Cruces. DASWCD works in partnership with NMDA, other state and federal agencies, and various organizations to advance conservation on private and public lands.
Current Supervisors are:
 Position/Zone     Description Name Term
 1/1Area north of I-10, west of Las Cruces, and north of Highway 70, east of Las Cruces to the northern district boundary, excluding the city of Las Cruces. Jerry Schickedanz Election in May of 2019
 2/2    Area south of I-10, to the Texas State Line and the Mexican Border, from the western district boundary (at the county line) east to Highway 478, excluding the city of Las Cruces and the city of Anthony DJ Martinez Election in May of 2019
 3/3Area south of Highway 70 to the Texas State Line, bounded by Highway 478 on the west and the district boundary (the county
line) on the east, excluding the city of Las Cruces
Kevin Bixby Election in May of 2021
 4/4Current and future designated city
limits of the city of Las Cruces
 D. Craig Fenske Election in May of 2021
 5/At LargeArea within the Doña Ana SWCD boundaries Melissa Roybal Election in May of 2019
 6/AppointedAppointed by the NM Soil & Water Conservation Commission Stephen WilmethAnnually
 7/AppointedAppointed by the NM Soil & Water Conservation Commission Dudley Williams Annually